Header Image

In six seasons at Mississippi State, Vic Schaefer has recorded 161 victories, won the program’s first SEC title and gone to four-straight NCAA Tournaments. His last two teams have advanced to the National Championship game after his 2015-16 team went to the Sweet 16.

Schaefer’s last five teams have each won 20 games, including 30-win seasons the last two years. MSU has claimed the school record for victories each of the last four years, including a nation’s-best 37 wins during the 2017-18 run to the National Championship game.

He was named SEC Coach of the Year and Naismith, USBWA and WBCA National Coach of the Year in 2017-18 after State won its first SEC title, played for the national title, became the first league team in 20 years to go undefeated in the regular season, and won 32-straight games, the second-longest in league history.

This season’s squad returned to the national title game after the 2016-17 team went 34-5 and won the ESPY for Best Upset after halting UConn’s 111-game win streak in the national semifinal.